Click here to emailClick here to printClick here to share

2010 Quality and Innovation Awards honour significant contributions to the delivery of cancer care


TORONTO, ON (Wednesday, December 8, 2010) – The Cancer Quality Council of Ontario, Cancer Care Ontario, and the Ontario Division of the Canadian Cancer Society today announced the winners of the 2010 Quality and Innovation Awards.

The annual awards honour those who have made significant contributions to quality and innovation in the delivery of cancer care across the province.

“These awards recognize and reward leading cancer care professionals and their teams for their work in improving cancer care and enhancing the patient experience,” said Terrence Sullivan, president and CEO, Cancer Care Ontario.  “Each of the recipients has made important contributions to cancer care that address one or more dimensions of cancer system quality, such as safety or access to timely care, or have created a truly unique and far-reaching approach to addressing their population’s needs.”

“The Quality and Innovation Awards have become a dynamic forum to advance opportunities for innovation in the care of cancer patients and a showcase for the most effective tools, processes, and best practices for improving the quality and value of health care across Ontario,” said Dr. Bob Bell, Chair of the Cancer Quality Council of Ontario. “We are particularly pleased that so many of the awards recognize initiatives that really focus on individual patient needs and the needs of diverse populations.”

The Quality Awards recognize, encourage and reward the development of quality leadership and projects designed to improve safety, effectiveness, access, and other dimensions of quality in the cancer system in Ontario. The winners have demonstrated measurable evidence of their impact on quality improvement across institutions and within the cancer care system. 

The Innovation Awards recognize, encourage and reward the development of new processes, products, or organizations which are bold, experimental, risky, or far-reaching and which enhance and improve cancer care performance in Ontario. 

There were two 2010 Quality Awards and one honourable mention:

Grand River Hospital, Deanna Wright, Dilip Panjwani, Andre Fleck, Lixin Zhan, Mark Berry, honourable mention,  for their Automated Email Notification System Juravinski Cancer Centre, Ontario Breast Screening Program, De dwa da dehs nye>s Aboriginal Health Centre, City of Hamilton Public Health Services, Cindy Mutch, Patti-Ann Allen, Angela Frisina, Jean Matone, Jordan Carrier, Quality Award for their Aboriginal Breast Health “Train the Trainer” Project Royal Victoria Hospital and Toronto East General Hospital, Don DuVall, Mike Anderson, Karen Winter, Marla Fryers, Penny Walcott, Rob Zeldin, Carmine Simone, Rina Pegoraro, Stephanie Collier, Garth Matheson, Tracey Keighley-Clarke , Carole Beals, Rob Devitt, Janice Skot, Quality Award for their Collaborative Thoracic Intake Clinic

There was one 2010 Innovation Award and two honourable mentions:

Wellspring Cancer Support Foundation, Pamela Bowes, honourable mention, for the Money Matters Resource Centre Juravinski Cancer Centre at Hamilton Health Sciences, Anne Snider, Roxanne Kantzavelos, Cathy Bennett, Vel Snoukphonh, honourable mention, for their Interactive Virtual Tour of the Juravinski Cancer Centre Hamilton Health Sciences, Oren Cheiftz, Jan Park Dorsay, Linda Woodhouse, Genevieve Hladysh, Innovation Award for their CanWell Program

Mariana Boskovic, Advisor, Public Affairs, CCO
Tel: 416-971-9800 x 3643
Cell: 416-873-8582